The Ancient Egyptians believe the human soul has five divisions or components. They named them Ren, Ka, Ib, Ba, and Sheut.

Ren is literally your name. It lives as long as you are remembered, or read about by others, or prayed to as an ancestor.

Ka is the vital essence that makes the difference between the living and the dead. It animates your body keeping your corporeal existence intact.

Ib is literally the heart. It is formed from a single drop of blood from your mother’s heart. It is the seat of your soul and considered the good directing force in your life. It searches for truth and peace.

Ba makes us all different, a unique individual. It motivates us to achieve our goals. It is a hungry elemental force that creates desire for food and sex. Ba will survive after death. It may go forth by day to enjoy the light, or it may end up a creature of darkness in eternal night.

Sheut is your shadow self. It is the other you that many people never realize exists. It travels on the astral plane while you sleep or meditate. It can move very quickly.

Views: 99

Comment by SunTiger on August 17, 2018 at 10:09pm

Interesting. I can see how the name has soul-power. It is something that identifies us from birth and most of us live with it (responding to our name) all our lives. Perhaps that's why there are so many cultural beliefs that suggest knowing someone's name gives the speaker power over that named person. 

I would suppose Ka is something like the breath of God/Goddess. That life-force within us. 

I don't see how the heart is separate from the soul ... unless you're saying it's the anchor that holds the soul to our bodies. 

I wonder if the BA and Sheut is the same in some people. Pretty sure not everyone lives a secret life. Some people (think: Jesus/Gandhi/Buddha) seem to achieve self-actualization and live authentically, always. 

Comment by Enigma on August 17, 2018 at 10:43pm

"I don't see how the heart is separate from the soul..."

Ib is the heart, it is part of the soul.

Comment by Spiralmatrix on August 22, 2018 at 2:36am

thats an intriguing way of thinking about it.

Comment by Enigma on August 22, 2018 at 3:57pm

It is rather intriguing.

Comment by Spiralmatrix on September 10, 2018 at 4:26am

Enigma, you may find this interesting too. According to Lakota tradition, there are four parts of the soul: Cekṗa (twin) is the connection with nature, Naġi̓ (the Guardian) is the aura or shadow, Toʹwakaŋ (the Advanced Guardian) resides at the top of the head, and the Niya̓ (the Breath of Life) resides at the solar plexus. These soul connections are responsible for our intuition and can be used to gain spiritual understanding. Learn how and why one seeks Hanbleceya (Vision Quest)

Comment by Enigma on September 10, 2018 at 10:15am

That is interesting.


You need to be a member of The Social Network for the Occult Community to add comments!

Join The Social Network for the Occult Community

© 2019       Powered by

Badges | Privacy Policy  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service